Making an Apron out of Overalls

Standard

My boyfriend had a pair of hunting overalls that he didn’t want and he gave them to my older son who didn”t want them either. Since I’ve been

looking for simple sewing projects I thought I’d try to find something to do with this pair of overalls instead of throwing them out. I thought I’d try converting them into a man apron. (nevermind the fact my boyfriend is a chef and never cooks at home and how the thought crossed my mind he may actually cook me a meal because he feels obligated to wear the apron I made him)

I had no idea what I was doing, as usual, but this is what I did and it worked:

I cut the overalls off at the knees. I took a seam ripper and took the seams out all the way up both sides and then the inseam. This makes it two seperate pieces except for the straps at the top. These straps were elastic and I ripped the seams attaching them to the back piece. So now you have two seperate pieces, the front and back. Set aside the back piece and legs that were removed. Lay the front piece down flat and spread it out. Where the inseam was you will need to cut a piece of fabric to fit. I used one of the leg pieces for this. Pin it in place. The elastic straps at the top, I just pinned the two end pieces together. Now you’ll need to cut strips out of the left over leg pieces to attach to the sides so you can tie on your apron.

I sewed the two elastic ends together. I sewed a seam up both sides. I  sewed in the pieced together inseam and then my hem. Finally I sewed the ties and attached them to the sides.

Seriously simple! And super cool that there are already pockets and lucky for me I didn’t have to fool with that.

About Sarasota Mom's Spot

I'm a stay at home mom of two boys, 18 and 1. Starting over with a second child has created a lot of challenges. I'm learning to let one go and preparing to send him off into the world as well as learning how to start from the begining. Facing the challenges of everyday life and trying to reconfiguring who I am in the process. I have had a lifelong love of art, the beach and the outdoors.

One response »

  1. So great ideas you have. I love making things out of old jeans. My last project was a boy-quilt.
    Thanks for sharing your creations.

Leave a comment